merry Christmas

search this blog for JESUS SONGS



Country Church (Bridge S2223) 1972?

With two acoustic guitars, upright bass, sometimes banjo, ultra-conservative coat-and-tie looks, flawless soothing harmonies and a repertoire of old-time standards, the three men of The Wedgwood perfected traditional ‘60s adult folk ala The Weavers, The Kingston Trio, The Brothers Four, etc. Dan Vollmer, Jerry Hoyle and Bob Summerour met while attending college overseas in England and derived their name from an 18th century potter Josiah Wedgwood. Their debut My Lord What A Morning finds the trio putting their own personality stamp on folk interpretations of spirituals and hymns like ‘Amazing Grace’, ‘We Are Climbing Jacob’s Ladder’, ‘Oh, Sinner Man’, ‘Just A Closer Walk With Thee’, ‘Go Tell It On The Mountain’ and a few more obscure songs. Come, Follow Me and When The Spirit Says Sing follow a similar format. If The Truth Were Known is a bit more contemporary and includes several of their own songs - ‘Requiem For A Little Boy’ made it onto several Creative Sound samplers with its catchy wholesome harmonica melody. Other songs include ‘Pack Up Your Sorrows’, ‘Foggy Mountain Breakdown’, ‘Summertime’ and ‘Green Grow The Laurel’. Revival is somewhat more traditional, slowing down the pace for gentle reflective covers of hymns and gospel songs such as ‘A Mighty Fortress’, ‘Nobody Knows’, ‘In The Garden’, ‘No Dark Valley’ and ‘Prayer Is The Key’. Country Church is first-rate country folk, housed in a thick brown textured cover with shiny gold lettering/artwork. Dove starts to creep a little into MOR territory. Live is a fine accomplishment featuring the band in a concert setting along with a small string ensemble (though admittedly it feels more studio than live). Wholesome sounds for those mellow moods. (Ken Scott – The Archivist).


01. There's A Light
02. Arise And Shine
03. Will The Circle Be Unbroken?
04. Steal Away
05. Were You There?
06. Way Beyond The Blue
07. Don't You Let Nobody Turn You Round
08. Sister
09. When The Lord Comes Knocking
10. Precious Lord
11. Do You Love My Lord?

Bite Rate: VBS                                        Download

No comments:

Post a Comment

Enter e-mail address

About us

This music site is owned and operated by http://christwings.blogspot.com/ . We want to make users experience online satisfying and safe. The songs here are for promotional purposes only. We neither upload nor host any of these files. We found all the links by digging the internet. There is no commercial gain by putting Songs in this site other than making the Songs popular and help the manufacturers to grow the sales. If any original author has a sound on this site and wishes it to be removed please contact us via e-mail at: royalravithej9@gmail.com

PLEASE NOTE: http://christwings.blogspot.com/ can not be held responsible for any illegal usage of the content that appears on sites

Downloading at your own risk!!!

Misuse of these mp3 files by making CD's is illegal. Buy original cd's and cassetes from the nearest store.